A New York Story – Part One

I break my writers block induced absence to report on my trip to New York.  I finally made it to the States where some of my dearest acquaintances here reside.  Firstly I must apologise to not arranging to meet any of you who live there, we all talked about it way back but it came around so suddenly that I was ill prepared.   I swear I’ll be back once I ask your lovely Homeland Security for a new visa.

I thought it was going to wrenched from my grasp though when I was detained at the border, the reason I had a special visa  presumably raising alarm bells warranting further examination.   So I was led away to a room with other undesirables as we waited for additional scrutinisation.  I passed with flying colours luckily and I was eventually free to step foot on your land after I promised not to try to take you back under British control.

I arrived in the lovely state of New Jersey at Newark airport where I took the train to Penn station, there was a lovely conductor who upon my querying if I needed to keep my ticket for arrival at the station said “No, America is a free country”  How delightful!

I emerged at the station to a cacophony of honking horns and sirens, this was what I had dreamed of, a mental metropolis to surpass London.   I was outside Madison Square Garden which was adorned with billboards for some of your peculiar sports.   I joined the ranks for the taxi cabs to whisk me to my destination in the East Village.   I blissfully listened to the sound of people shouting at each other through car windows and spied a lady carrying a pizza box which I estimated was about 50 inches in diameter, finishing the last slice and depositing it a trash can.   What a welcome NYC!

I expertly gave my address how I had read about, street first then avenue so I sounded like a seasoned pro, and be damned quick about it sir I added.  I was quickly acclimatizing to New York speak.

I arrived in the East Village to collect my apartment keys from a cafe, I ordered a latte while I waited, my head spinning from the milk options I could choose from, just the one that comes from a cow I replied.   My coffee never materialised.

Armed with my keys I swept round the corner to my apartment to prepare for my week ahead.

 

 

 

Leave a comment

43 Comments

  1. YAY! I’ve been eagerly awaiting your posts about your NYC trip and have thought about you often hobnobbing with Rachael Ray and eating Funyuns and whatnot. (I had no idea we said our addresses differently) — I do hope that cab driver was damned quick about it by god! Can’t wait for the next installment, Joe!

    Reply
    • Hey! I never found Funyons, can you believe it after all that!

      Reply
      • What!? That does it. I’m mailing you a bag!

        Reply
        • Haha! NY was all Whole Foods and Westside Market, Trader Joe’s. All a bit organic. I even looked in a 7/11

          Reply
          • They didn’t have any at 7-11? What the hell? Okay that does it. Now you have a really good reason to make a trip out to California. We have Funyuns coming out of our ears here, Joe. You have to come!

            Reply
            • You know you now have to draw a lady with Funyons coming out of her ears for me. The Funyon Lady.

              I am applying for my next visa in the New Year, hopefully it’s not a years wait again for it, but then I will do all my holidays in the US that year and make the most of it, so California will be my two week trip as well as a jaunt back to NY.

              Reply
              • Ah yes! The Funyun Lady! I have a feeling she will be showing up at the blog door one of these days.

                Well I hope you get your Visa sooner this year. Did you like traveling by yourself?

                Reply
                • A friend came with me in the end so was fine, a week alone would have been a bit much, I’d have ended up befriending the hobos.

                  Reply
  2. Loving it so far – keep going, I’m making note of the tips for when I visit.

    Reply
    • Have you plans to go? It was my first time but was armed with tons of tips from friends. Mostly of the where to eat and drink variety but they were mainly dive bars and such! But I pretty much walked the city so sight wise it will give you an idea. Such an easy city to get around. Really was great, I live in London but NY had something about it, a definite vibe, it was pretty cool

      Reply
      • No immediate plans, just the usual “Oh I really want to go there one day!” Well I’ve been to the airport changing flights, but I don’t think that counts, hehe. I’m from London originally too, but live in Kent now.

        Reply
        • My friends are imminently migrating to Kent. Whitstable to be exact. I recommend new york wholeheartedly.

          Reply
          • I’m about half an hour’s drive from Whitstable, near Canterbury. I definitely want to do New York sometime. I lived in Las Vegas for a few years and ventured to a few other places in the states but never made New York!

            Reply
            • Probably takes as long to fly from London to NY as to NY and Vegas!

              I did go to Whitstable to view the house they were buying, I like being nosey. One of few times I have seen much of the UK, that’s terrible really.

              Reply
  3. This ought to be good…

    Reply
  4. How very amazing! I love New York. It will be fun to visit through your experience…

    Reply
  5. Hey! Do you know what’s up with Gingerfightback? Haven’t seen his red hair in weeks…

    Reply
  6. Sounds like you had a very cordial welcome to the States! … but that conductor … whew!

    Reply
    • I loved it! Just what I expected, it did not disappoint that’s for sure. Just makes me want to move there, but I say that after anywhere I go. Must be a lottery ticket tonight…

      Reply
  7. julie

     /  October 21, 2014

    I CAN’T WAIT TO HEAR THE REST OF YOUR VISIT!!! It would have been very cool to have gotten to meet you (with a bonus for getting Arthur angry). I haven’t been to NYC either, and am looking forward to listening to your experiences! I am glad you liked it, and that you were safe.

    Reply
    • It’s not dissimilar to London, I suppose many big cities will be similar, but had more of a buzz about it. Maybe I am just used to London living here, but NY had a quality about it.

      Reply
  8. 40+ years here, I don’t think I’ve ever heard anyone use “Sir” sincerely…
    Glad you made it!

    Reply
    • So gutted I never got in touch but couldn’t find an email link on your blog. I left it far too late as it was mental at work for weeks leading up that it came around so suddenly. Next time though! I will be back, I had such a great time, I love NY!

      I even had other Americans asking me for directions by the end, I must have slotted right in

      Reply
  9. Newark airport? and no coffee??!! You poor man. Hope the next installment gets better…

    Reply
  10. What no pics?!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

