Painting by numbers – Ref #001 Bathtime!

I was actually quite a good artist in my youth, having inherited my father’s gift, himself a talented artist.

But like him, life got in the way of my art and I didn’t use my skills since.  I once tried to get back in the groove to little avail, can drawing be unlearned?  As my attempts were feeble to say the least.

With this in mind I sought new ways to rekindle my artistic flair, so decided to work with painting by numbers.

But art should be something shared for everyone to participate in, so I have created a series of painting by numbers artwork for you to try at home.

Here is my first piece entitled “Bathtime!”

As you can see it’s a cat licking it’s bum.

Colour codes are as follows:

1) White

2) Light Brown

And if you print on white paper you won’t even need to colour in the number 1 sections, saving you half the time.

I hope you enjoy unleashing the artist within.

images1

Leave a comment

35 Comments

  1. My painting looked so beautiful then I scrolled down and now there’s just a giant paint stain on my computer.

    Reply
  2. I will live dangerously and paint the tongue pink and rough.

    Reply
  3. Just 2 colors?

    Reply
  4. I started to do the painting, but then I got too caught up in making the asshole photo-realistic and gave up when the paper disolved.

    Reply
  5. I was going to try this, but it’s just way too many colors for me.

    Reply
  6. Before I started writing, I used to do paint by number paintings. They’ve come a long way, you have to blend colors now & make a 3rd color out of 2 pots they’ve given you. I found it calming. BTW, you would have to paint the white spots otherwise the number 1 you put there would still show up.

    Reply
    • haha! Good thinking! Now I know you are expert in painting with that knowledge that completely escaped me.

      I’m doing a series of them – at least until I think of the next skit to run with

      Reply
  7. I wish I could do that

    Reply
  8. I started to do this, but realized I couldn’t support the subservise messages implicit in this piece.

    Reply
  9. I’d do it, but I’ve no brushes or paint. Argh, I hate these “participation” blogs. Off to the art supply store.

    Reply
  10. Lovely. Like you, I’ve been looking for a way to bring creativity back into my life after many years absence, but I don’t know that I have time right now to do it justice. I’ll just print it out and do the actual painting after I retire.

    I think you’ve hit on something here, Joe. You could do a whole line of irreverent paint-by-numbers – seriously, it would be cool.

    Reply
  11. You kill me. Now was that drawing done directly from a Lily pose, or did you just dream that one up off the top of your head?

    Reply
    • Lily isn’t ambidextrous. Random google image that you can trace the outlines on Gimp (free photoshop type thing) to make it look like a pint by numbers. Next week’s is more challenging.

      Reply
  1. Painting by numbers. Ref: #002 Cocktail Hour | londonsurvival

Leave a Reply

