Hold on to your knickers for some exciting new blog news

Actually it’s not exciting enough to cause your undergarments to expel from your body, but feel free to remove them anyway as I’ve heard the experience is heightened when you read this blog without any underwear on.

I’ve launched a new blog, a food blog to join the masses that already exist, called Bloggers and Mash.  My USP will be that I can’t take nice photos of food and I am hardly a gourmet chef, but I do eat food.

It was either a food blog or a mommie blog, it was a tough call but I went with the food one.  Click the link above or the photo on the link to Bloggers and Mash on your right.

I do have good reasons for starting this, mainly as people sometimes ask me for a recipe for something I made, they think it sounded nice when I described it to them since I never invited them to dinner.

Another reason for doing this is if I die before my partner he would have to live on takeaways and ready meals, so at least they can access their favourite things and teach themselves to cook.   And since I had planned to have myself stuffed and placed in the kitchen it would feel like old times.

It will be full of food related debate and scorn, recipes and reviews, and I may rehash some Food Network posts from this blog when I’ve run out of porcini mushrooms and unable to complete my post on mushroom risotto.

I hope you come over and join me there, I would also like to invite any of you to submit your own favourite recipe for a guest post feature I’ll run, details can be found on the Get Involved link.

To quote Ina Garten throwing a party for The Hampton “Gentleman’s” scene, “It’s gonna be a lot of fun!”

Leave a comment

30 Comments

  1. It is with great anticipation and more than a little relief that I place the food blogging duties in your capable, albeit nicotine-stained hands. 😉

    Reply
    • Stained?! I was looking for a reason to use a cigarette holder like Holly Golightly…

      You are no longer blogging on food?! You must, we need the alternative view to avoid being suckered in by people too obsessed by cupcakes.

      Reply
      • I hung up my oven mitts and am now devoting myself almost exclusively to other topics. I don’t really have much more to say on the topic really. As such I look forward to hearing your observations.

        Reply
        • I remember you posting about that now. I will be doing recipes for people so they have no excuses when I go to dinner.

          Reply
  2. Will there be cats?

    But cool! It’s always great to expand into something new.

    Reply
    • If we’re eating horses in the UK now we may aswell be eating cats too. Which is handy I have have a great kitten pot pie recipe.

      Reply
  3. I am glad that you are branching out… but just so you know… I always take off my underwear before I read your blog…

    Reply
  4. One day, you will be known to foodies around the workd as “Cabbage Man”.
    Or something…

    Reply
  5. I am too excited about this. I love the name, too, Bloggers and Mash. But are you going to have Jeffrey stop by?

    Reply
    • Someone had the name Bloggers and Mash on blogger but they never bought the domain and they never used the site for 4 years so it’s mine! And I made my own alphabetti spaghetti header so I have paid my dues

      Reply
  6. Wow, will you be featuring good old favorites like Bangers & Mash, Bubble & Squeak, Yorkshire Pudding, Old Fashioned Rice Pudding? I’m down for that!

    Reply
    • I have a variation on bangers an mash “with the volume turned up” I hope Ina Garten doesn’t sue me for using her trademarked phrases. I use cider and apples with it. Never made bubble and squeak as it requires leftovers and I eat everything so there is nothing leftover. I love a Yorkshire pudding but I actually buy mine frozen now as they never work in my current oven and it’s a deflated mess. And Rice Pudding – ugh! The bane of my childhood served out of a tin which is one of the reasons I started cooking for myself at home as the food I grew up on was gross. I have never tried it properly made, it’s likely to be wonderful, but I have memories of the gloopy mess with a skin on top I was served.

      Reply
      • I will have to search my recipes to see if I can find my recipe for old fashioned rice pudding. I make it with raisins & a touch of cinnamon & served warm it’s delicious!

        Reply
  7. Yay! I love food…I just have a hard time cooking it. Looking forward to seeing the new blog. What’s for dinner?

    Reply
  8. Two blogs? That’s impressive! I’ll have to check it out. But I think I’ll keep my underwear on…

    Thanks for stopping by my site. I appreciate it!

    Reply
    • Kept meaning to stop by as I have seen you around some others I follow. Since I posted that I haven’t added anything to either site so it’s not as impressive! 🙂

      Reply
  9. Love the name. Off to check it out now…

    Reply
    • There is nothing there yet, I have to cook the stuff first, I’ve got ahead of myself but I was struggling for anything else to post!

      Reply
  10. Anonymous

     /  February 23, 2013

    Joe Joe, you have been holding out on me! I am going over to Bloggers and Mash to follow right NOW.

    Reply
  11. Remember, the food and drug administration recommends that knickers be worn while preparing food. 😉 Congrats on your new blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

