A Birthday Gathering

Having a January birthday sucks, everyone is skint and worn out from Christmas and New Year excesses.   So this year I gave my friends a break and instead organised a birthday dinner with other people who share my predicament.

I was thrilled when they all accepted the invite; Michelle Obama, Barry Manilow, Betty White, David Caruso and Muhammed Ali duly arrived in Camden Town for a seat at my table.

I couldn’t wait to see what scintillating conversation and anecdotes we would share.

table

table2

table3

table4

table5

table6

table7

table8

table9

table10

table11

Previous Post
Leave a comment

54 Comments

  1. I guess they were all too polite to ask for a fork.

    Happy birthday!

    Reply
    • I’ve been noticing the flaws too, like how it is about 4 hours before I ask for salt, the spaghetti hoops would have been stone cold by then.

      Thanks!

      Reply
  2. Haha. Awesome.

    Reply
  3. HAPPY BIRTHDAY JOE HOOVER!!!

    Reply
  4. Happy Bday, Joe! Hope Betty made your day with her witty repartee…and stuff.

    Reply
  5. Nice to see Betty there.
    Happy Birthday Joe!

    Reply
  6. “Spaghetti Hoops”?!!?!?!? That has now rocketed to the top of my Crazies British Translations Ever list. Ironically, the previous #1 was Rocket.

    Also, happy birthday.

    Also, at first, I thought the picture of you was Obama and that you allowed Michelle to bring a date.

    Also, I’m really tired this morning.

    Reply
  7. Happiest of happy birthdays! That looks like a great party. I mean, things got a little out of hand with that salt thing, but when you have celebrities of this magnitude getting together and letting their hair down…

    Reply
  8. Barry Manilow has put on a bit of weight since i last saw him. Haven’t had ‘oops in years.

    Reply
  9. laugraeva

     /  January 17, 2013

    I share the burden of a January birthday. Yet I was not invited to this dinner party.
    Also, where did Barry’s chair disappear to in the fifth “photograph”?

    Reply
    • Hah! Well spotted! When’s your birthday, that’ll be about the 7th bloggers birthday I know on Jan. We rule

      Reply
      • laugraeva

         /  January 17, 2013

        It was the 15th Jan, and my 21st!
        I don’t know about that; people seem to dislike the month of January. Though there is that song about a man’s love for January. Have you heard of it?

        Reply
        • No? Hope you had a good one or saving it for the weekend?

          Reply
          • laugraeva

             /  January 17, 2013

            I did have a good day, and am continuing the celebrations this weekend. But I am praying for as little snow as possible.
            When was yours?

            Reply
            • Was celebrating on the the actual day yesterday but decided to wait til the weekend. It won;t be too mental, I’m getting on a bit now

              Reply
              • laugraeva

                 /  January 18, 2013

                Aw well happy birthday for yesterday! Surely if you are “getting on a bit” you should party even harder?
                I’ve never really understood why people say “congratulations” on birthdays. Congratulations for lasting this long? Congratulations for reaching your peek, it’s all downhill from here?

                Reply
                • congratulations you’re not dead. You have a point, I will have words with the next person who says that 🙂

                  Reply
  10. Whenever my soirées lag, I haul out my ventriloquist’s dummy and use my “act” to get the party started. Pity you didn’t think of that. The evening might have ended a lot earlier.

    Reply
  11. If I had known it was your birthday today, Joe, I would have done something! Dammit! Although it couldn’t compare to having Betty White come for dinner. Nothing could, really. Happy happy birthday, Joe—hope you’re having a great day and are celebrating with appropriate debauchery!

    Reply
    • Thanks Weebs! No worries about that, I am finally warming to a January birthday seeing so many other bloggers here have one too, coincidence?

      Reply
  12. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!
    I think everyone was so tense because they were afraid as soon as they opened their mouths, Betty White would have outshined them.
    Then she and Michelle would have had a throwdown reminiscent of their run in at Tukaloosa in ’67.
    And nobody wants that.

    Reply
    • 😀

      For years I only thought I shared it with the singer from the Bangles but I guess I was reading teen music magazines at the time. I was chuffed when I saw I shared it with Betty, she’s fab,

      Reply
  13. Happy birthday! Mine is in a few days, so make me #8 😉

    Reply
    • No way! Have a great birthday! This is getting a bit weird now though, all the best people in January, I always thought it was a long, cold month to celebrate and everyone is tired after the christmas break. Now I see it actually rules as I share it with so many nice people.

      Reply
  14. Thanks for the gripping dinner table talk! More importantly, HAPPY BIRTHDAY.

    Meanwhile, now this would have been interesting at the party.

    Reply
  15. Happy birthday, Joe!

    Reply
  16. Happy Birthday Joe!

    Reply
  17. Le Clown

     /  January 19, 2013

    Joe,
    Happy birthday, Mr. Hoover. This is the type of parties I enjoy, personally… Photoshopped bubble-stick heads are my peeps, all but Kate Moss type who I usually end up rolling and snort with.
    Le Clown

    Reply
  18. Happy birthday! Hope it was a good one. I’m with you and lament the January birthdays. Maybe I’ll do the same. And screw Manilow…he didn’t need a chair at 10:00..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

