Cover version contest – Dinosaur Jr vs The Cure

Poor old Mercury Rev, they failed to muster a single vote (I’m barred from voting) and Sly & The Family Stone walked it with ease.

Don’t let this result put you off their first couple of albums, Yerself is Steam and Boces, pure genius and that track isn’t included on them.

Sly generously offered all of you who voted for them a surprise treat:

This week is a tough one for me, I love Dinosaur Jr and I love The Cure, and this is one of my favourite Cure tracks.

I won’t criticise anyone sticking with the original here but Dinosaur’s version slots seamlessly into their back catalogue of tunes and is a live favourite and the video’s pretty cool with head banging puppets.

 

Leave a comment

29 Comments

  1. I like the one with the puppets, but the other video wont play, but really, the Dinosaur Jr. version is pretty cool. Okay, I got a youtube one of the other…that is an awesome song. I love it either way, but I’ll go with the Dinosaur Jr. video as my favorite.

    Reply
  2. The Cure video plays fine here, sometimees there are copyright laws and stuff that may stop it playing over there? Let me know if any of you others in the USA have a problem. There won’t be anything I can do about it but it may make me think “hmmm, fancy that”

    Reply
  3. Yeah, when I click play the video just shows a black screen with: “The uploader has not made this video available in your country” here is a link that I played it on: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RS_ux2H473I

    Reply
    • That sucks! It’s the same video and you need a different link?! What will happen when more restirctions come in? Stop controlling our internet experience you Government overlords!

      Reply
    • Hobbler, you are now joint top comment maker on the blog, and you achieved it about 2 weeks in a blog almost a year old.

      Your next comment is going to take the lead.

      Reply
  4. An old boyfriend of mine used to play this for me- Love it still!!

    Show me show me show me how you do that trick, the one that makes me scream she said, the one that makes me laugh she said, through her arms, around my head. Show me how you do it, and I promise you, I promise that I’ll run away with you.. I’ll run away with you.

    Thanks Hobbs!

    Reply
  5. I’m not going to vote, since I don’t like the song.
    But keep going with these!

    Reply
    • You’re hard to please EG!?

      What’s your thing and I will have to think about it, I could do all along the watchtower, I will need to think about others

      Reply
      • I’m very wide open to all types of music. I just never got the cure. Not saying I wouldn’t go see them, this song just doesn’t do it for me…
        But keep bringing what you’re bringing. I (generally) love hearing stuff that’s new to me!)

        Reply
  6. I changed my mind on this. I was thinking about it and I like the Verve one better. In fact, I think that it sounds like a good stalker song, so I’ll dedicate it to you. 😉
    If you’re not dead tomorrow…I still haven’t found you on Facebook. If they kill you, I’ll try to have it played at your funeral. But seriously, I have looked at all the J. D. (I don’t know if you want your real name out there), and I can’t find your thumb pic. There are lots of the right name, but one of those blank faces is all that is on there. You also told someone that you are 36, so I have tried using your birth year with the name also. Oh, and your WP email.

    Anyway, I’ll keep trying, but if I don’t find you, I’m sorry and I will always remember you when I hear this song.

    Reply
  7. I just tipped the scales in favor of The Cure!

    Reply
    • OH, I love Dinosaur, but I love the cure, I was gonna ask J Mascis and Robert Smith to wrestle it out in the ring, but Robert escapes lipstick intact!

      Reply
  1. Music | Hobbling Around

Leave a Reply

