Movies: We need to talk about Kevin and Hobo with a Shotgun

I had ever intended to bother reviewing good movies – where is the fun in that?!

But these films were so good that I had to mention them, both could be difficult viewing for some people for differing reasons and I am loathe to recommend a controversial film since I was 18 years old and I told a woman at work about Trainspotting, she went and then told me off for recommending it.

She walked out after 15 minutes after the scene of Ewan McGregor fishing round a shit plastered public toilet for his suppositories, and she was disgusted by the frequency of the word ‘C*NT.  I had no idea she thought this way, it never came up I suppose, but she never treated me the same again.  Bit silly of her, it’s not as if I called her a c*nt and injected heroin into her arm.

Anyway, my point being don’t blame me if you see these movies and are offended.  Note:  May contain spoilers.

We need to talk about Kevin

Why was this ignored in awards season?  Oh yeah because it’s actually great.  From the direction, editing, and of course the acting from all concerned was phenomenal.  I have never read the book so I would be interested to know if anyone who has since seen the film and what their thoughts were.

The storyline is cleverly edited flitting back between past events to Tilda Swinton’s character’s present life as it slowly pieces together the events that leave her in the lost state she is in.  From early on you sense the unease and in a more recent flashback you see her daughter has an eye patch and can only wonder how that came about, from the ensuing flashbacks we piece together the relationship between her and her son and the dreadful realisation that this is so much more than post natal depression.  I don’t want to reveal too much more even though you know what is going to happen, the genius is in the journey that takes us there.

Hobo with a Shotgun

Do you like Rutger Heuer?  Do you like Hobo’s?  Do you like Shotguns?   Then you’ll love this film.

It is also very violent in a comic book way, completely ridiculous and over the top throughout.   I found myself laughing hysterically, but this isn’t horrific in the normal sense, even when a school bus full of kids gets hit upon with a flame thrower it never once seemed uncalled for.  Maybe this is wrong of me but the film wasn’t telling you it was ok to go and BBQ a bus of school kids, it’s a farcical film, it needs to be taken with a pinch of salt.

Rutger Heuer is the hobo in question, he arrives in town which is overrun by crime and lawlessness, it’s overlord being the very cartoonish Drake character and his sons which would not seem out-of-place in a John  Hughes movie.   He walks the littered streets in despair at the state humanity has reached, but at each passing event so builds up the anger inside and you know pretty soon he’s gonna come across a shotgun and let loose his frustrations.

The one liners too come thick and fast, some favourites being, “I need to wash this guys asshole off my face”  and a paramedic trying to save his prostitute friend “Don’t die on me you fucking whore!”

It harked back to some moments from other comedy gore films, like Braindead (by Lord of The Rings Peter Jackson – check it and see how creative he was without a budget) when the prostitute cranks up a lawnmower to unleash bloody vengeance on the criminal crew.

Utter nonsense, hammy acting but utterly awesome, or maybe it was the 2 bottles of wine I drank during the film.

There we have it, one film criminally ignored and the other criminally insane. But both won’t leave my thoughts for a long time, which is the point of any movie, there’s a time for a nice film that entertains for a couple of hours, but a truly good movie should play on your mind for the days that follow.

On a side note, The finale of A Recipe for Murder will resume soon once the writer’s strike has been resolved.  I’ll also be revealing the incident that happened on a day out with The Queen, it was a lot of fun.

I was also nominated for two awards this weekend, I will get round to thanking them and honouring them properly but it may have to wait a week or so for very specific reasons!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Still looking forward to Hobo With A Shotgun. It’s a shame Rutger Hauer only did a couple of good movies.

    How did you post this if there’s a writer strike?

    Reply
    • It’s ludicrous but so awesome at the same time.

      Erm…I must have scheduled it to post now. Yes, that’s it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

