Cooking in times of austerity

Browsing through the BBC news site I came across a feature about a toast sandwich.  No, not a toastED sandwich, but a slice of toast in a sandwich.

No, I’d never heard of it either and I suspect you won’t find it in Marks and Spencer.

Is it any wonder the rest of the world looks down on British cuisine despite our 143 Michelin starred restaurants?

In all fairness the following recipe was part of an article about the cheapest meal possible and this recipe originated from the queen of frugality, Mrs Beeton, from a time before cooking was held in such regard, you certainly wouldn’t think to put ‘TV Chef’ on your career options at school then.

  • Toast a thin slice of bread.
  • Butter two slices of bread and sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste.
  • Place the toast between the two slices of bread-and-butter to form a sandwich.

This sandwich is estimated to cost 0.075p each which I grant is cheap, though I think I’d scramble down the back of the sofa to find enough change to upgrade from a slice of toast to an egg.

It is hard with tightening budgets these days, but there are other ways to economise in the kitchen.

1) Empty toilet roll tubes make a great substitute for cannelloni.

2) Used knicker elastic dipped in egg and deep-fried makes instant calamari

3) Don’t throw away old hosiery, they make a perfect bouquet garni casing to add to your stews.  No herbs?  Then take some clippings off some houseplants and add a used tea bag.

4) Old insoles from your shoes make a good substitute in aubergine parmigiana

5) No parmesan cheese, then try….I’ll think I’ll leave it there

 

 

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. LOL. We’re having some hard times here in the U.S. too, but there will always be meat between my bread.

    Rob, The Mainland

    Reply
  2. Ketchup sandwich: it’s what’s for Thanksgiving dinner

    Reply
  3. Becoming Bitter

     /  November 22, 2011

    I just ate and you’re making me hungry…

    By the way, thanks for the follow.

    Question: Do you have a twitter?

    Reply
    • No prob, found you via Edward Hotspur

      No Twitter, I’m holding off on that I can see it taking over, I can get away with blogging and Facebook at work so better not push it!

      Reply
  4. it’s like a poor man’s club sandwich.

    Reply
    • A very poor man! I can imagine how dry it must be, I might make one to test it out, I’m guessing I need the chepeast most plastic in texture like bread

      Reply
  5. Put a lowly piece of cheese in the middle before you toast your bread a and viola’….grilled cheese!

    Reply
  6. This is something I can actually make my family for dinner and when they complain I can say I got the recipe from the news.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

