I’m a published writer!

I’m exaggerating quite a bit since all that’s happened is that my letter was printed in the local paper, The Camden New Journal, this week.

This is the second letter published in my lifetime the other made it into Time Out a few years ago.   Both concern my gripes against fellow cyclists, see my prose devoted to them.

As well as being recognised for writing in my moans to the press I’ve had various other flirtations with fame, most notably an acting career which began when I played Pinocchio in the West Rise Junior School production of….Pinocchio – I received numerous plaudits including:

Variety:

“..his casting as the little boy made of wood was perfectly reflected in his wooden performance, taking method acting to a whole new level”

The Stage said:

“Midway through the play you were hoping for an outbreak of termites”

I was a bit confused by the last review, I guess they were referring to Jiminy Cricket, maybe the reviewer thought there should have been a chorus line of termites to accompany him when he performed a musical number?

The following year what with now being an acting veteran I took a cameo role as Gabriel the Angel in the Nativity.

The Evening Standard said:

“If Gabriel can appear to Mary and advise she would bear the Almighty’s son, then he should also have warned us about the 2 hours we would waste watching this adaptation.”

 

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. Love the reviewers’ comments, especially the one about the termites.

    Reply
  2. It was a rollercoaster of a time, plucked from obscurity in the school playground and taken to the headmasters office to be offered the role.

    My family helped keep my feet firmly on the ground, you do read cases of child stars spiralling out of control.

    I must find out why I am not on IMDB, this was the most significant school play of its time.

    Reply
  3. This made me spew my morning coffee laughing so hard. I am sure it was never THAT bad. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Actually I don’t recall performing Pinocchio, I must have been about 8 years old and I remember rehearsing it a lot but only remember the start of one performance.

    I’m wondering if I have blanked it from my mind as something awful happened, maybe I froze or started crying or even wet myself!

    I’ll have to go for hypnosis to drag back all the traumatic memories 🙂

    Reply
  5. You are so funny Joe, and I think it is awesome that you have had some of your letters published! That tough stance on Rude cyclists would be a good point to bring up when you run for mayor.

    Reply
  1. ‘Cause you see I’m on a losing streak…. « londonsurvival

Leave a Reply

